Harald Mueller-Dempf   -   about me

 

Born 1944

Studies in Electronic Engineering in Aachen and Berlin

Sales engineer in Munich, Rio de Janeiro, Lagos, Baghdad and Cairo

Africa crossing with own vehicle in 1980/81 and 1985/86

Since 1981 studies in social anthropology in Berlin, PhD 1989

1989 Post-doc studies in Paris, MSH (Maison des Sciences de l'Homme)

1990 until 2004 employed by GTZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit, now GIZ) in Djibouti, Eritrea and in Headquarters

From 2005 until 2019 associate to Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology in Halle/Saale

 ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Since 1982 I have conducted research among the Toposa in southeastern South Sudan and the Turkana in northwestern Kenya; from 1982 to 1989 for the Free University of Berlin and since 2005 for the Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology.

  

In the 1980s I explored the socio-political structures of the Toposa and Turkana which at that time were little understood by academic research: generation- and age-sets, a form of organization which, in varying manifestations, is common to all those ethnic groups in the area which have a common origin (Toposa, Turkana, Karimojong, Jie, Dodos, Nyangatom, Jiye).

 

From 1990 until 2004 I worked for GTZ, first in Djibouti for IGADD (Intergovernmental Organisation on Drought and Development, now IGAD) as an information and documentation expert, then as a team leader of a food security project in west Eritrea, and finally as a project manager in GTZ headquarters, responsible for parts of North Africa and Jemen.

  

From 2005 until 2019 I was an Associate to the Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology in Halle. My research project "In the Aftermath of War and Development Aid: Toposa und Turkana" spans a period of more than 25 years and documents the differing developments which both ethnic groups have made during this period.

  

Since 2005 my research was accompanied by filmic documentation, in co-operation with my assistant and friend Peter Muzee, who has also shot some sequences.

Turkana in North-east Kenya watch one of my films on Turkana west of Lake Turkana.

With my assistant and friend Peter Muzee

Harald Müller-Dempf   -   über mich

Geboren 1944

Studium der Elektrotechnik in Aachen und Berlin 

Vertriebsingenieur in München, Rio de Janeiro, Lagos, Baghdad und Kairo

Afrika-Durchquerungen mit eigenem Fahrzeug 1980/81 und 1985/86

Ab 1981 Studium der Ethnologie in Berlin, Promotion 1989

1989 Post-Doc-Forschungsaufenthalt am MSH (Maison des Sciences de l'Homme) in Paris

1990 bis 2004 Arbeit bei der GTZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit, jetzt GIZ) in Djibouti, Eritrea und in der Zentrale

2005 bis 2019 Assoziierter am Max-Planck-Institut für ethnologische Forschung in Halle/Saale

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Seit 1982 haben mich meine Forschungsreisen zu den Toposa im südöstlichen Südsudan und den Turkana im nordwestlichen Kenia geführt; von 1982 bis 1989 für die Freie Universität Berlin und die GTZ und seit 2005 für das Max-Planck-Institut für ethnologische Forschung.

 

In den 1980er Jahren habe ich vor allem die sozio-politischen Strukturen der Toposa und Turkana untersucht, die seinerzeit noch relativ unerforscht waren: Generations- und Altersklassen, eine Organisationsform, die in unterschiedlicher Ausprägung allen dort mit den Toposa und Turkana verwandten Ethnien (Karimojong, Jie, Dodos, Nyangatom, Jiye) gemeinsam ist.

 

Von 1990 bis 2004 war ich für die GTZ tätig, zunächst in Djibouti bei der IGADD (Intergovernmental Organisation on Drought and Development, jetzt IGAD) als Experte für Information und Dokumentation, danach als Teamleiter in einem Ernährungssicherungsprojekt in West-Eritrea, und schließlich als Projektmanager in der Zentrale, zuständig für Teile Nordafrikas und den Jemen.

Von 2005 bis 2019 war ich beim Max-Planck-Institut für ethnologische Forschung in Halle assoziiert, mit einem Forschungsprojekt "In the Aftermath of War and Development Aid: Toposa und Turkana", einer Langzeitforschung über mehr als 25 Jahre Zeitunterschied, die die unterschiedlichen Entwicklungen bei beiden Ethnien in dieser Periode dokumentiert.

Ab 2005 sind bei meinen Feldforschungen Filme entstanden, unter Mitwirkung meines Assistenten und Freundes Peter Muzee, der auch teilweise die Kamera geführt hat.

Turkana in Nordost-Kenia betrachten einen meiner Filme über die Turkana westlich des Turkanasees.

Mit meinem Assistent und Freund Peter Muzee